top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTsoonklah Spiritual Gifts

Handmade Pieces for Spiritual Help

Hello, my Tlingit name is Tsoonklah & I am a Native American/Alaska Native, specifically Tlingit and Yupik. Tlingit’s are matrilineal, meaning the mother’s lineage is what is recognized, so I go by my Tlingit name. I’ve been an Empathic my whole life, and have other abilities as well. I started sewing medicine bags after some experiences I’d had. I’m also very artistic & really enjoy doing embroidery & sewing.

I am a direct descendant of Chiefs & Shamans/Healers from both sides of my family. From my Mother’s side, my Tlingit clan originates from Southeast Alaska. Tlingit Shamans/Healers have the ability to see, speak and interact with spirits and the spirit-world, so they were the mediators for both the living & the spirits. They were also known to be seers, asked to oversee and perform various rituals and ceremonies, have a vast knowledge of medicinal plants, and help mediate or resolve any disputes or conflicts that may have arisen. Due to the Shaman’s abilities with the spirits/spirit-world, along with having the ability to use “magic”, they’re held in high esteem, given great respect, and agreements involving currency were always paid in advance. Also, Tlingits showing signs or having abilities, faced the possibility of being forced into the role as a Shaman/Healer by the other clan members.


From my father’s side, I am also blessed with my Yupik heritage that is from a long line of Leaders & Shamans/Healers. Yupiks are indigenous to the southwestern and south-central parts of Alaska. Yupik Shamans would do healings/ceremonies, search for animal spirits to aid hunters, maintain a vast knowledge of the local medicinal herbs and plants, and pray for blessings to benefit their community. My paternal Great-grandmother was a one of the last living Yupik Shamans of the 20th century. My Dad would bring me with him when he visited her, she’d enliven with happiness, speak to me in Yupik and hold my hands. I still remember her smile, it radiated with warmth and love.

I hope I can help with whatever spiritual matters you may be challenged with, please feel free contact me with any questions you may have.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page